July 29, 2021

(Washington, D.C.) — The Pharmaceutical Supply and Payment Chain Coalition issued the following statement in response to the Administration’s 100-day review of the actions needed to address vulnerabilities in our nation’s pharmaceutical supply chain and what measures need to be taken in order to strengthen the security of the domestic drug supply (“Building Resilient Supply Chains, Revitalizing American Manufacturing, and Fostering Broad-based Growth”).

“Like this administration, we are committed to the health and safety of the drug supply chain, both global and domestic. Our representative organizations comprise America’s pharmaceutical supply and payment chain, including prescription and over-the-counter brand and generic manufacturers; pharmacies and pharmacists across all practice settings, including health systems and hospitals, community, supermarkets, specialty, and managed care; wholesalers; pharmaceutical quality standard developers; employers and other health plan sponsors; health insurance providers; and pharmacy benefit managers.

“We commend the Biden-Harris administration for its thoughtful and thorough measures laid out in the report aimed at enhancing the security of the pharmaceutical supply chain. Our coalition stands ready to work with the Administration on the steps necessary to help ensure safe and reliable access to medicines.”

In an April 19, 2021 statement and January 2021 letter to President Biden, the coalition urged the Administration to promote resiliency and diversity of the global pharmaceutical supply chain, specifically referring to its May 27, 2020 Guiding Principles to Promote Undisrupted Patient Access to Medications.

Click here to read: Guiding Principles to Promote Undisrupted Patient Access to Medications.

# # #


Contact the spokesperson for each organization:

AMCP (Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy): Mara Kaiser Braunger (mkbraunger@amcp.org)

American Pharmacists Association: Frank Fortin (ffortin@aphanet.org)

American Society of Health-System Pharmacists: Amy Ruth Cole (aruthcole@ashp.org)

Association for Accessible Medicines: Rachel Schwartz (rachel.schwartz@accessiblemeds.org)

Consumer Healthcare Products Association: Lauren Bloomberg (lbloomberg@chpa.org)

FMI – The Food Industry Association: Heather Garlich (hgarlich@fmi.org)

National Association of Chain Drug Stores: Chris Krese (Ckrese@nacds.org)

National Association of Specialty Pharmacy: Sheila Arquette (sarquette@naspnet.org)

Pharmaceutical Care Management Association: Charles Cote (ccote@pcmanet.org)

United States Pharmacopeia: Anne Bell (adb@usp.org)